Aeolian Islands

The archipelago of the Aeolians is composed of 7 islands: Lipari, Vulcano, Salina, Stromboli, Filicudi, Alicudi, and Panarea.  They are found on the Northeast side of Sicily and represent an extraordinary testimony to the birth and evolution of the volcanic islands.  Notwithstanding the ongoing volcanic activity, or maybe thanks to it, the Aeolian Islands are a fascinating and rich natural environment full of flora, fauna, stunning beaches, coves, caves, inlets, cliffs, and a varied and abundant ocean floor.  The islands are a favorite destination for Sicilians during the summer months, where they can take in the breathtaking views, crystal clear water, and experience first hand the volcanic eruptions.  Stromboli is the only island on the archipelago with a constantly active volcano, and she offers an amazing show that is extremely intriguing at night when the rivers of fire ooze down to the sea.  The Aeolians get their name from the mythological Greek god of wind, Aeolus, and were added to the UNESCO list in 2000.